Blessington Lakes Golf Club

25 Years 1998 to 2023

Diarmuid McCarthy goes low 20th Mar

A brilliant turnout of over 70 competitors competed in the final round of the combined Spring league/Open singles last weekend 19th/20th March. Diarmuid McCarthy (6) and Stephen Carroll (20) both returned scores of 41 pts with Diarmuid winning on the count back. Diarmuid actually came home in 34 strokes (2 under gross), quite remarkable well done sir.

Stephen was actually returning his 1st competitive card on Sunday so not a bad start to his BLGC career, do them scores next week gents and the garden shears will be coming out to sort those handiers. The course gave up 36 birdies and  over the 2 days, Sean Farrell also eagled the 7th hole on Sunday morning, well done Sean.

The Spring League final Table is now complete.Congratulations to Joe O’Donohoe who is the inaugural winner of The Joe McKeever Trophy, (presentation details will be announced in a week or 2). Cat 1 was won by Alan Doolan with Sean Farrell in Runners up spot. Cat 2 was won by Michael Cullen with Liam Crosbie runner up. Mark Williams won Cat 3 with Clive Cullen taking the runners up position. Player of the year points will be now awarded to the top twenty positions filled by full members, 20 for 1st down to 1 for 20th. Open singles timesheet now on line for Easter Weekend.

Final League Standings Top 10 – (Best 4 Cards to Count).

Weekly Results
10th Jan – Winner: Joe Donohoe
17th Jan – Winner: Mark Williams, Runner Up: Micheal Cullen
24th Jan – Winner: Ronnie Feighery, Runner Up: Paul Culligan
31st Jan – Winner: Clive Cullen, Runner Up: Michael Cullen
7th Feb – Winner: Adam Feighery, Runner Up: Ray Murphy
14th Feb – Winner: Joe Donohue, Runner Up: Tom Barrett
21st Feb – Winner: Alan Doolan
28th Feb – Winner: Joe Donohue, Runner Up: Stephen Culligan
6th Mar – Winner: Stephen Culligan, Runner Up: Danny Lynch
20th Mar – Winner: Diarmuid McCarthy, Runner Up: Stephen Carroll