Blessington Lakes Golf Club

25 Years 1998 to 2023

Niall nails it …..Captains Prize report.

[et_pb_section admin_label=”section”][et_pb_row admin_label=”row”][et_pb_column type=”4_4″][et_pb_text admin_label=”Text” background_layout=”light” text_orientation=”left” use_border_color=”off” border_color=”#ffffff” border_style=”solid”]

Niall O Connor’s perfect golfing season goes on with his playoff victory in the 16’s Captains prize. Niall playing off 5 finished the second day’s play tied with Paul Dowd (10) on 144 strokes. Paul who is also having a magical year on the fairways of the blessed nine having bagged a medal a few weeks back though must be sick of the sight of Niall O’Connor. Paul lost out in the club match play quarter final to Niall earlier in the season. The second round was played in at times atrocious conditions but a picture on Social media posted by Niall on Friday evening of 18 dry golf gloves shows how much thought and preparation he is putting into golf this year. Niall is now also very much in command of the POY competition sitting at the top of the standings well clear from the rest of us “Journeymen”. In 3rd spot came that wily old fox and big comp specialist Ray Murphy, having played with Ray a few times in the last month you could see he was coming into form, September medal Ray..In 4th spot came Sean “Birdieman” Farrell and in 5th came “an bainisteoir” Tony McGinley…. need to check that irish spelling… keep playing Tony the club needs you. Diarmuid McCarty (6) won the best gross category with Brendan Flynn (7) taking the 2nd 18 prize. It looks like a good night was had in the Avon Ri this opinion being formed by the total lack of Whats app messages yesterday. Lots more golf to play this year comrades so get out enjoy.

Captain’s Prize | 36 Hole Stroke (Blue Tees)

Pos Name H/C Score Notes
1st Niall O’Connor 5 144 Playoff – 1st hole sudden death
2nd Paul Dowd 10 144
Gross Diarmuid McCarthy 5 164
3rd Ray Murphy 16 146
4th Sean Farrell 6 153
5th Tony McGinley 8 153
1st 18 Joe O’Toole 14 73
2nd 18 Brendan Flynn 7 77
Shootout Diarmuid McCarthy & Joe Donohue
Longest Drive Darren Tobin
Nearest the Pin Neil Larrigan

Blessington Lakes Golfer of the Year Sponsored by Liffey Plastics


Scoring for Golfer Of The Year (GOY) 2016.

This years golfer of the year will be decided by performances in the Leagues, Medals, Captains Prize, Presidents Prize and the Club Matchplay. Points will be awarded as Follows.

1. Medals, Spring League & Xmas Hamper: 20 points for 1st, 19 for 2nd and in corresponding descending order to 1 point for a 20th place finish.
2. Double points will be awarded in the Captains and Presidents, ie 40 points for 1st down to 2 points for 20th.
3. Winner of the Club Matchplay will receive 40 points, runner up 30 points. The beaten semi finalist will receive 15 points each

[/et_pb_text][/et_pb_column][/et_pb_row][et_pb_row admin_label=”Row”][et_pb_column type=”4_4″][et_pb_gallery admin_label=”Gallery” gallery_ids=”1131,1130,1129,1128,1125,1126,1127″ fullwidth=”off” posts_number=”8″ show_title_and_caption=”on” show_pagination=”on” background_layout=”light” auto=”off” hover_overlay_color=”rgba(255,255,255,0.9)” caption_all_caps=”off” use_border_color=”off” border_color=”#ffffff” border_style=”solid”]